Issue: Trash Items are not being Removed when trash is emptied.

Response: Our GroupWise system has enabled a feature called "SmartPurge". Simply put, any email that has not yet been backed-up by our backup solution will not purge from anyone's GroupWise trash.

This means that if you empty your trash and all items do not actually purge - it is working as designed. The items will be purge-able once they have been successfully backed-up. Any item in your trash will auto-delete after 30 days if not purged manually.